[Skip to Content]

Welcome to the 2018 Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards


The New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants’ Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards celebrates the year's best-distinguished reporting that cultivates, promotes and disseminates understanding of accounting, finance and business topics.

Winners will be chosen based on the creativity and relevancy of their entry to the category submitted. Deadline for all submissions is March 16, 2018. Winners will be notified May 7, 2018. The EFJ Awards luncheon will be held June 2018 in New York City.

Please read all the information on this page about eligibility, categories and submission fees. If you have any other questions, send an email to journoawards@nysscpa.org or contact Maya Lindsay, (212) 719-8350. 

2017 Winners: To view last year's winners, click here.

The Categories

Audio – Exemplary coverage of a business, financial, or economic news story using radio, podcasts, or other online audio formats.

Book – For distinguished book writing featuring business, economic, or financial subject matter.

Enterprise – In recognition of an exemplary business, economic, or financial story in any medium featuring in-depth research, journalistic initiative, reporting and creativity.

General Reporting – Exemplary coverage of a business, financial or economic news beat in a newspaper, magazine or online format.

Infographic – For outstanding graphic representation of information, data, or knowledge presenting complex financial information in a clear, concise, visual format to enhance a story narrative. 

Local – Exemplary business reporting by a newspaper, magazine, television or radio station, or website focused around a geographic area whose primary audience are the residents in that area.

Opinion – For distinguished commentary, including editorials, columns, blogs, podcasts or video, on business, economic or financial topics.

Public Service For laudatory reporting on a business, financial, or economic topic that will be judged on the impact on the public and the degree to which it benefitted the public good. Each entry may include up to four stories and must be accompanied by a description by the reporter or editor detailing this impact.

Video – Exemplary coverage of a business, financial, or economic news story in a television, live stream, or other video format.

Click here to enter the Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards.

Want to enter the Book Category? Click here.

Additional information about the Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards is below.

  • Any business, finance or accounting-related news story published in the 2017 calendar year is eligible for entry. The journalist or the outlet may submit the entry.
  • Categories include print, TV, radio, and online news stories.
  • There is a $75 initial entry fee. Any additional submissions from the same contestant are $50.
  • Deadline to enter is March 16, 2018.
Follow Us Facebook Twitter